Past Weeks’ Good Things

week2This morning was the first one in recent memory that I went out to get the paper and I didn’t get rained on or had to deal with a water covered newspaper bag. The sun is shining and it is a wonderful time to review some of the good things that made their way into my days over the last few weeks.

ErasablePencils – This started with a podcast. The Erasable Podcast is a one hour plus conversation among three dudes who love pencils. The podcast starts out with them describing what they are drinking and what pencil they are writing with. One guy is in Baltimore, one in California, and one in North Carolina. Turns out that all of them have never met in person before, but the camaraderie among the three during the podcast would not suggest that they aren’t comfortable with each other. So, they really do kind of talk about pencils for an hour – and it is truly fun! I have learned that the little metal piece that holds onto the eraser is called ferrule. I have learned that all pencils are not created equal and that Target curates their pencil collection better than you might think. In fact, on Saturday, Dan and I went to Target and I picked up a box of Ticonderoga Renews which was the pencil of the week that they reviewed, and I also bought a box of Ticonderoga The World’s Best Pencil. Checking out, the cashier picked them up and said, “You know, these really are the world’s best pencil!” Pencil love is catching on and it can partially be traced to the friends who sit around with a beverage and talk over the Internet with each other about writing implements that they dig.

Mystery-LogoMystery Show – Two podcasts in a row, I know, but it is necessary. This one came to me from as a text from Sam “Download the Mystery Show podcast! You will love it!” I did and I do. Starlee Kine may be one of the most charming people hanging out on this earth. She is also an amateur detective of the Harriet the Spy ilk. She is going to use resources to solve your mystery – with one caveat. The mystery can’t be solved by just googling it. I am a couple mysteries in and they are candy. When she calls someone up on the phone that may be able to help her piece the truth together, she is as likely to start talking to them about their high school experience as she is about the case in hand. If I ever get to meet Starlee Kine, I wonder what I would share with her? I don’t know, but I would probably feel like I had been touched by an angel afterwards. She is like that. The last episode I listened to involved a picture of Britney Spears from several years ago. In it, she is holding a copy of a novel that was not very popular. The author of that novel wanted to know whether Britney read it, and whether she liked it. I am not going to give it all away, but I was listening to the end of the episode while I was driving the other day. I realized that I must have had the biggest, goofiest smile on my face. It’s like that. (and I really need a sticker of that logo!)

watermelonWatermelon Salad Recipe – I came across this recipe a couple weeks ago, and this week I made it twice for two separate dinner get-togethers. I really like watermelon and to pair it with fresh herbs, toasted nuts, mozzarella, salt and a smattering of olive oil seems to be a combination that speaks summer salad. It is delicious!

d49ab787-3ffc-4d16-b908-c5bc4eeeee18
Cleaning my office
– A couple weeks ago, I left work on a Friday afternoon and I felt horrible. It was late and I needed to get home, but what I was leaving behind was chaos. There were piles everywhere. My to-do list was a joke. The plan for my next week wasn’t to be found. I made the decision to go in over the weekend to get some order to what was left behind. I also spent some time rereading the wonderful David Allen’s Getting Things Done. Between the plan that the book lays out for putting order to your life, and a few hours of diligent order-making in my office, my work life is now in such a better place. All last week, I kind of perused my new system and felt so much better about things.

Funny sight on the way home – Driving home from work one night, I was stopped at the corner of Rockhill and Cleaver. There was a skinny little lady with a fat bulldog (I think) who started walking across the street on the red light. At a point when she was almost to the median, the dog decided it needed a rest. It laid down in the middle of the crosswalk and would not budge for several seconds. The visual of that big old dog stubbornly laying there while his owner tried to coax him on was very amusing and made me laugh.

That is five, but there have been many others since the last time I posted one of these. There were dinners with friends with good food and conversations, picture of Banjo with her new KC Royals collar and Ali’s craft pictures,positive responses to some of the things going on at work, Negroni week, babysitting Birdie and Dan’s extraordinary baby calming skills, a thoughtful and fun invitation, and a bunch of other stuff. Once again, as I look over things, I know that I am lucky. I hope your week ahead has lots of good things to capture.

Leave a Reply

