Last Week’s Good Things

weekThere have been some pretty incredibly great things this week, so it is a little hard to think back to the previous one. Thankfully, I took some notes and can share a few of the good things that happened last week.

Outpouring of love for David Carr – David Carr was a journalist who worked for the New York Times. Last week, he died suddenly after collapsing in the newsroom. I read David Carr’s work in the Times and had seen him on television. He wrote thoughtfully and insightfully about media and society. His background included a period of his life where addictions controlled it. He wrote about that period and his rise from it.  What came out after his death was stories of the person David Carr, and how he gave so much to those around him. He did not forget friends. He helped other writers. He was a great father and husband. Each piece written about him seemed to reflect on the gift it was to have David Carr as part of your life. Journalism can seem like a pretty rough business with plenty of ego. It was touching to get to understand what David Carr meant to so many.

Items in my closet – Since the beginning of the year, Dan and I have been trying to eat more Paleo and move more. It has been a good program for us and we are both seeing positive results from it. Last week, I was able to pull a few things out of my closet that I had 86ed because they were wickedly too small. I wore my jeans that a few weeks ago I would only wear when I wanted to torment myself, and I wore a dress that I bought quite a bit ago but never wore because it was too small. I still have miles to go, but small victories are incentive to continue on the journey.

Good wisdom – There were a few things going on last wee that required me to seek assistance from others. When you have people in your life who you know will listen and understand and support, you are a lucky person. I am a lucky person in that way. The person that I turned to last week has a characteristic that I would call rational empathy. She sees things as they are. She won’t sugar coat things or skirt the reality. She is there and present when needed. As we worked through the situation, she said something that sticks with me and think always will. She said that our calling is to show up for our fellow humans. I’ll go with that.

Mashed Cauliflower – With this diet we are on, there are all sorts of hacks to replicate things you shouldn’t have. There are some misses. Spaghetti squash in no way, shape, or form reminds me of pasta. One that I tried that did work last week was mashed cauliflower. Goodness it was tasty. I want to eat it every day. It is super simple too.

StellaMeeting Stella – Our friends John and Tracy have a new puppy and we got to meet her last week. She is an itsy bitsy darling jolt of energy (notice the blurred tail in this photo). Watching her run around and discover was very fun!

Here’s hoping that your days each hold good things that you add to your own list.

Leave a Reply

