Diploid Love by Brody Dalle (Album of the Week)

RS
Last week Dan chose Diploid Love as our album to listen to and write about.  I had never heard of the album’s artist, Brody Dalle. I have also not heard of Bree Robinson, Bree Joanna Alice Mayer, Brody Armstrong, Brody Dalle-Homme, Bree Joanna Alice Robinson, The Distillers, or Spinnerette. Turns out that Brody – like one of Dan’s previous picks – has been known by a number of different names during her musical career. Despite the roving identities, she has been consistent in her style. Girl rocks hard.

This week’s listen marks the debut of Dan’s new blog DJR Blogging. He is fan-boying all over his choice, as I would have anticipated. He does have a soft spot for the hard rocking ladies. For the most part, I am on board with his enthusiasm. 

When I listen to an album like Diploid Love, my tendency is to not pay a great deal of attention to the components. On my reviewer assignment, as I focus in on this one, I find her doing some unexpected things. One that I particularly enjoyed was her use of a brass section. The first few songs of the album highlight this style nicely. The songs start with the punch of guitars and drums, but by the time they finish, songs are almost symphonic in the collection of sounds. I like that.

Listen to the first five seconds of each of the songs of the album and you understand a little about where she is going to go with each. For the most part, there is a drive of energy. Her creativity as a musician shows in that this is not heard in a uniform way. She mixes things up in interestingly. Her voice – which makes me think of Concrete Blond – wails in a style that makes me give a “you go girl!” approving nod.

Interestingly, I was not as fond of the softer side of Brody. There are a couple tracks on the album where she slows things down a bunch. Not only did I find those to be not nearly as compelling as the others, they made me a little pissy. They broke up a mood that I liked – and that I don’t go for that often. When her wail stops dead on “I Don’t Need Your Love” – which is the albums longest song at over 6 minutes – the mood is broken. Weird of me to feel this way since I am typically the sucker for the slow groove. Not here. If she is going to open up my rock and roll heart, I want her to keep it open.

This was another great example of the benefit of this blog exercise. Thanks DJR Blogging!

Next Up: The Kopecky Family Band, Kids Raising Kids

KIDS

Leave a Reply

