Last Week’s Good Things

Jan14Last week was the first normal week I have had in a long time. Although I miss the holiday visitors, it felt good to get back into somewhat of a routine. In the midst of work and play, there were many good things. Here were a few of them.

  1. I got an IPhone – This seems hopelessly materialistic, but there is actually more to this story than the fact that I really do think this phone is pretty fun. I have had a number of issues with my previous phone’s service. I wasn’t getting service in my house – which is a little problematic for a communication device. So we changed carriers and we got new phones. The rest of the story is that I had to take care of some things with my previous carrier and they were apologetic for my issues and gracious in taking care of my needs. I am still glad that I have made the change, but the breakup was without drama.
  2. Impromptu lunch with friends – We got a note on Saturday asking if we could meet some friends in a couple hours for lunch. It was my first visit to Port Fonda in Westport. It was a sunny warm day after a week that had some ruggedly cold temperatures. For a couple hours, we sat around and had some good food, good drinks, and excellent catching up time. We run by our schedules so much. It is good to have time where you can just do what comes up.
  3. Healthcare experiences – Friday I had my third physical therapy appointment with Erin at Laughlin Performance & Physical Therapy. She has been working with me on some back issues. After the appointment and handing me my healthy back program, Erin told me that she didn’t have to see me again. If I had any more problems, I just needed to get back in touch with her. She impressed me so much. I expected that I would be seen to the extent that my insurance would allow it. Instead, she celebrated my progress and sent me on my way. From my PT appointment, I went to the dentist with a broken tooth. I wouldn’t call this a celebration, but it struck me that it was a pretty great thing that I can have this gross broken down tooth repaired to the extent that it can still be attached to my gums. So far so good!
  4. My work holiday party – My office saves the holiday party until after the fact. Saturday was the day. One of the doctors hosted and prepared for us many wonderful Mexican dishes. Everyone else brought a dessert or a beverage. The house was full with grouping taking the opportunity to have non-work chats. I felt really lucky to be a part of this. There is a camaraderie among everyone – no matter what their role it. People seem to really like each other. I still remember the day that I got my job and thinking how lucky I was. I still feel that way.
  5. Thai Coconut Curry Soup – Another cooking triumph! One of my favorite dishes when we go to a Thai restaurant is Tom Kha Gai which is a coconut chicken soup. Last week I made a recipe saved recipe that I am unsure of the source. Looking it over, I was hoping that it would replicate the taste that I love. It ruled. It had the heat, the freshness and the flavoring that I desired. The flaked coconut that I bought – even though it was a little pricey – toasted, and sprinkled on top of the soup …. so yummy. I mixed it up a little and used avacado rather than tomato. Thumbs up for this one!

 

Thai Chicken Coconut Curry Soup

  1. 4 cup chicken stock
  2. 5 clove garlic, peeled and chunked
  3. 2 inches ginger, peeled and chunked
  4. 1 Tablespoon thai green curry paste
  5. 2 tsp whole coriander seeds
  6. 1 tsp whole cumin seeds
  7. ½ tsp whole black peppercorns
  8. ¾ cup cilantro, + 1/2 cup for garnish
  9. 1 cup unsweeetened coconut milk
  10. ¾ cup thinnly sliced shallots
  11. 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  12. 1 6 oz boneless skinless chicken breasts, 1/4 inch strips
  13. 2 Tablespoon asian fish sauce
  14. 2 Tablespoon fresh lime juice
  15. 2 tsp brown sugar
  16. 1 jalapeno, sliced in rings
  17. 1 small tomato , seeded and diced
  18. ½ cup shaved coconut, or unsweeteded coconut flakes toasted for garnish
1.

In a large pot over high heat, combine chicken stock, garlic, ginger, curry paste, coriander, cumin, peppercorns and cilantro. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes. Strain broth over a bowl through a fine mesh sieve; discard solids. return broth to pot. Add coconut milk, shallots, mushrooms and chicken. Return to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer and cook until chicken is cooked through, 5-7 minutes.

2.

In a small bowl, combine fish sauce, lime juice, brown sugar, and jalapeno, if desired, stir until sugar is dissolved, the add mixture to soup. Garnish with tomato, coconut shavings, and cilantro; serve hot.

 I hope your week is a wonderful one with many good things!

Leave a Reply

