Last Week’s Good Things

IMG525A happy mother’s day to all who celebrate! That mother thing is a good thing, and here are a few of the other good things that I came upon during last week’s day-to-day:

  1. Getting to play pinball – Yesterday, Dan and I went to Haus to use a Groupon that we had gotten awhile ago. Not only did we get to have a delicious Local Pig sausage, a large order of poutine, and a flight of American craft beers, but as I looked across the restaurant, I spied a “24” pinball machine. My goodness, it was fun to play. There was Jack Bauer and Chloe flashing on the backboard as the silver ball banged around the game. It was delightful. We played three games between us, and because it was Mother’s fest weekend, Dan let me take the extra ball – even though he had gotten more points than me.
  2. Center for Spirit at Work Breakfast – Friday morning I went to a breakfast talk sponsored by The Center for Spirit at Work. The talk was about looking for your passion and going for it. What really struck me about the morning, however, was how friendly and welcoming people were, and how each came to start their day listening to such a positive message.
  3. I always think that I should like Mark Maron more than I do, but he can be a little much for me. This article, however, made me laugh more than a little bit. The article describes him going to buy a pair of jeans because he heard they were making them right again. The advice that he gets from the jean’s salesperson is quite something. My favorite part, however, was Maron’s going off on his dislike of handlebar moustaches:

The clerk helping me was a chubby fellow with a handlebar mustache. I have no patience for contemporary handlebar mustaches. They anger me. They look indulgent and ridiculous. If you have a handlebar mustache, that is pretty much all you are. You are a delivery system for a handlebar mustache. I saw a guy in Brooklyn once with a handlebar mustache, pierced ears, a fedora hat and j odhpurs. He was a collage of sartorial attempts at evading himself. It looked as if he were interrupted during a shave in the mid-1850s and had to grab some clothes and dress quickly while being chased through a time tunnel.

4.  Clean sheets – The fact that I put clean sheets on the list should not indicate that this is the first time that I have had clean sheets since I started writing this series. I do change my sheets fairly regularly, and this week was one of those times. It just struck me that it is such a good feeling to get into a bed that is so fresh and the tuck-ins are so tight and hospital-cornery. Between sheet changes, getting the bed made usually involves pulling all of the covers up and trying to redistribute things after the cover power-grabbing that seems to occur each night. There is no serious smoothing and tucking. That only gets done with clean sheets and it is a delight.

5.  The Office – We are down to the last episode of The Office. I have always liked the show, but over the last few years I lost passion for the series. This year, however, they are bringing it. The Pam and Jim story this week was just heart meltingly sweet, and Dwight finally gets Angela. Oh, Dunder Mifflin of Scranton, PA, I will miss you.product_ream

Leave a Reply

