Last Week’s Good Stuff

  1. Nicoise Salad – Thursday, I got home from work early so I got to do something that I don’t often do. I made dinner (not that I don’t have dinner most nights. I just have a husband who takes on the responsibility). I made a Nicoise Salad with a great taragon-y vinaigrette and seared tuna on top. It tasted fresh and pretty healthy.
  2. The Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts – Friday night, Dan and I used the tickets we won to go see the Wagner opera, The Flying Dutchman. It was a fun experience, but the best part, was going for the first time to Kansas City’s Kauffman Center. It really is beautiful. Just stepping into the building made me feel cultured!IMG_20130308_215215
  3. NPR’s SXSW Sampler – I really love the music group at NPR. I have found so much good, new music via their podcasts, radio shows, and blog. South by Southwest is the mecca for new music introduction. For the last few years, they have offered a 100 song sampler that you can download for free. I have been listening to it on and off this week, and have already discovered some new musicians that I will need to listen to more.
  4. Gratitudes – One of the things that I have wanted to do this year is to take time every day to remember good things that happened the day before. For several weeks, I have thought that I would take time at work everyday to do that. That idea did not work out at all. When I was talking to Dan about my frustration with that, he asked why I didn’t do it in the morning before I went to work. This week I started doing just that. It is working beautifully.
  5. Monday at the Bier Station – Monday night, rather than doing dinner at home, Dan and I went to the Bier Station. We sat at the bar and had a meat and cheese board along with one of the Farm to Market pretzels. I had the Samuel Smith Chocolate Stout which is a fine chocolate beer. We got some samples of beer that had been pressed with fruits. We conversed with the bartenders and another woman from the neighborhood who was sitting next to us. Such a beautiful night in the neighborhood.
Leave a Reply

