Time to Come Home

Tomorrow my writing retreat comes to an end. I will be heading east with more than 150 pages of what could someday be called a book. I think it tells the story that I am trying to tell. While I didn’t write all of those words while I was here, I put them in order, added to them, and edited them. I still have more to get down before the major editing begins, but I have a plan for that too. I am in good shape.

This had been great, and I am so grateful that I had this opportunity. Where I was in the process, I definitely needed a kickstart. I needed to be put in a spot where I either put up or shut up. I am the person who rises to challenges, and I just haven’t felt the challenge lately. This was my challenge. I think I met it.

But now I am ready to go home. Today I hit that tipping point where I am tired of being alone. I have had a schedule this week where I wake up early, write for eight hours and then go out for a little explore. I have made some great discoveries, but they are always a little less cool, or delicious when I am not enjoying them with Dan. I tell myself that next time we will come here together, and I will know where we will need to go. But today there was enough of the “next time.”

I am ready to go home, sit on the couch with Dan, and crack open up one of the presents that I have picked out for him.

Thanks to all of you who have passed along kind words of support. It was quite a fun week!

Leave a Reply

